Fake it til you make it…or so they say

It’s a common phrase and fairly self-explanatory.

As described in wiki:

  “Fake it till you make it”  is an English aphorism which suggests that by imitating confidence, competence, and an optimistic mindset, a person can realize those qualities in their real life.[1][2] It echoes the underlying principles of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) as a means to enable a change in one’s behavior. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fake_it_till_you_make_it

But what does it look like?

 

 

This From Dec 2015 – Nov 2018

Books GIF.gif

Novels
Cataclysm
Kept
The Used 
                                                                                                                                            Novellas
Sudden Death
The Cimmerians
Wife N’ Death                                                                                                                           Anthologies
Shrouded Voices
Things only the darkness knows
My other friends & more stories
100 Word Horrors
A world unimagined                                                                                                               Indie Writers Review Issue 13                                                                                              Kids Books
The lonely leaf
Puddle jumping                                                                                                                                 Poetry
Spewed thoughts                                                                                                                                Self-Help                                                                                                                                       Writing 101

 

 

The price of all that!

Costs $7900.00 Earned $975.00

Working hard to get those tables to flip. 

 

Plus the hours…

Mon – Fri 9-5 job. 7 days a week every waking moment writing.

I’m not looking to be famous, I only want to live my dream life:

Continue to be able to met author friends, to have the freedom for more book signings, for my books to be in the big box stores, and to spend my days doing everything I love – WRITING!

About author in Pic one, Lucy Lombos: http://www.lucylombos.com/

I’ll save up to be at Frightmare in 2019:  http://frightmareinthefalls.com/guests/

Coming this winter : (so far) 

 

What does your FAKE IT TIL YOU MAKE IT look like? We feel less alone in the struggle when we share 🙂 Drop a comment and maybe meet someone new.

 

2 thoughts on “Fake it til you make it…or so they say

Add yours

  1. I’m starting to feel you. I don’t have as much money in it yet, but I’m sure I’ll be there soon. I’m already starting to feel the full time job aspect of it. When I’m not at my 9-5, I’m working on something related to my writing career. Exhausting but enjoyable. I so want to do it full time someday. Until then, I’ll live on the dream cloud and revel in someone sting they enjoyed my story! Great post, btw.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s too easy to spend spend spend (with credit anyway) and then pray the return comes and when it doesn’t spend some more.
    But you’re right, the true joy comes from the happy readers. We’ll keep plugging away!
    And thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑